Following Franklin D. Roosevelt to Argentina in 1936

Lime Rock, Conn. Bernhardt Wall, 1937. Hardcover. Light gray cardboard boards with dark gray cloth tape as spine; light gray paper dust jacket, [30 pp.], 28 color etched plates. VG- (Substantial wear to edges and spine of dust jacket; has bookplate from previous owner Jean Hersholt; includes correspondence from Bernhardt Wall to Jean Hersholt; a unique item.). Item #149704

Book handmade by American etcher Bernhardt Wall (1872-1956), containing 28 of his original etchings related to this FDR trip. Most of the etchings are signed in pencil beneath. Includes a copy of the thank-you letter FDR sent to Wall upon receiving his own handmade copy of this book. Also includes the typed letter that Wall sent with this book to actor-collector Jean Hersholt. Additionally included is a two-page booklet advertising Wall's published stock, and containing 3 etchings itself. A fabulous find, for fans of Wall, Roosevelt, Hersholt, or the laborious technique of making a book of etchings by hand. #17 of 100 copies.

Price: $750.00 save 10% $675.00

See all items in American Artists
See all items by